Equivalent Training Credentials

The two main functions of the Faculty’s Credentials Committee are to assess applications from doctors who have not been trained in Ireland under the supervision of the JFICMI and who are seeking either Ad Eundem Fellowship of the Joint Faculty or to register on the Intensive Care Medicine specialist register with the Medical Council of Ireland. This Faculty committee is currently chaired by Dr Jennifer Hastings.

Applications for Ad Eundem Fellowship are made to the Chair of the Credentials Committee.

Applications for Ad Eundem Fellowship should contain the following documents:

  • A copy of your CV
  • Copy of equivalent test of knowledge outlined in the Ad Eundem Criteria Document
  • Letter from current ICU Director stating that you have substantive ICM    Practice
  • Letter requesting Ad Eundem Fellowship Admission, addressed to Dr Jennifer Hastings, Chair Credentials Committee

Applications for registration on the specialist register for Intensive Care Medicine are made to the Irish Medical Council and, after certain processing, are then forwarded to the Joint Faculty for the attention of its Credentials Committee. The role of the Credentials Committee for such specialist registration applications is to assess whether the training and examination ‘credentials’  of the applicant are ‘equivalent’ to a JFICMI-trained doctor who has  attained CSCST status in Intensive Care Medicine from the Joint Faculty. The  Faculty then acts  on the advice of the Credentials Committee (with regard to equivalence of training) when making a recommendation to the Irish Medical Council about the suitability of applicants for specialist registration in Intensive Care Medicine.